These hierarchies are listed here, compiled from many sources, so that the Demonolator can view the various hierarchies people have come up with over the years. Many of them are simply modifications from previous hierarchies. Please note that most of these hierarchies are from a Christian viewpoint.




From Collin De Plancy’s Dictionaire Infernale (1863)


Asmodeus – The Destroyer

Astaroth – Obtains friendship of great lords.

Behemoth – Demon of indulgence

Ronwe – Demon of lingual knowledge

Urobach – Of the lower order of demons

Andras – Grand Marquis of Hell, causes discord and quarrels

Beelzebub – Lord of the flies




Francis Barrett’s The Magus (1801)


Mammon – Prince of tempters

Asmodeus – Prince of vengeance

Satan – Prince of deluders

Belzebuth – Chief of false god

Pytho – Prince of the spirits of deceit

Belial – Prince of iniquity

Merihim – Prince of the spirits of pestilence

Abbadon – Prince of war

Astaroth – Prince of accusers and inquisitors





From the Grimoire of Pope Honorius:


Lucifer – Emperor

Beelzebub – Prince

Astarot – Grand Duke


Lucifage Rofocale – Prime Minister

Satanchia – Grand General

Agaliarept – Aussi General

Feurety – Lieutenant Commander

Sargantanas – Major

Nebiros – Field Marshall


Bael , Bathim, Agares, Pursan, Marbas, Abigar, Pruslas, Loray, Aamon, Valefar, Barbatos,

Forau, Buer, Ayperos, Gusoyn, Nuberus, Botis, Glasyabolis




(A. E. Waite?) Johan Weyer’s Hierarchy of Hell (1515-1588) Weyer, who studied under Cornelius Agrippa, is the very same 16th Century Demonologist John Weir (also spelt Wier at times) talked about in many freemasonry books. However, since the written record contains both Johan Weyer and John Weir and the hierarchy listings are slightly different, both have been included under separate entries. Please note: A recent discussion at the forum further suggests that this hierarchy is actually from A.E. Waite, who took liberties with Weyer’s work, and the mistake of this hierarchy was repeated from Waite’s work and placed in subsequent books as historical fact and attributed to Weyer. This particular hierarchy listing (in MD and here) was extracted from such books. I am told this hierarchy does not appear in Weyer’s Pseudomonarchia Daemonum and that Weyer’s hierarchy is simply a revamp of the Goetia (as many are). See John Weir’s hierarchy below for the hierarchy (and I believe that’s a partial) that does come from Weyer’s work.:


Beelzebuth – Supreme Chieftan

Satan – Occupies second place as prince of darkness.

Eurynomous – Prince of death

Moloch – Prince of the land of tears

Pluto – Prince of fire

Baal – Commander of the armies of hell

Lucifer – Dispenses justice

Asmodeus – Gambling

Baalberith – Minister of pacts and treaties

Proserpine – Prince of demonic spirits

Astaroth – Prince and treasurer of hell

Nergal – Chief of secret police

Chamos, Melchom, Behamoth, Dagon, Adramalek



Sebastien Michaelis’s Histoire admirable de la Possession et conversion d’une penitente (1613)



Belzebuth – pride

Leviathan – faith

Asmodeus – luxury

Balberith – blasphemy and murder

Astaroth – vanity and sloth

Verrine – impatience

Gresil – impurity

Sonnillon – hate


Carreau – mercilessness

Carnivean – obscenity

Oeillet – riches and wealth

Rosier – love

Verrier – disobedience


Belial – arrogance

Olivier – cruelty and greed

Juvart – demonic possession




(Johan Weyer) John Weir’s Hierarchy (partial): John Weir(Wier) is the same 16th Century Demonologist as Johan Weyer, student of Agrippa. However, since the written record contains both Johan Weyer and John Weir, and the hierarchy listings are somewhat different, both have been included under separate entries. See Weyer above for more information about the possible misinformation of the above Weyer hierarchy.


Bael – King, lord of the East, and commands 66 legions

Forcas – President

Beur – President and commands 50 legions

Marchocias- Marquis and commands 30 legions

Behamoth – unkown




Peter Binsfeld’s Demons of the Seven Deadly Sins (1589)


Lucifer – pride

Mammon – avarice

Asmodeus – lechery

Satan – anger

Beelzebub – gluttony

Leviathan – envy

Belphegore – sloth




Faust’s Hierarchy of the Kingdoms:


Beelzebub – North

Lucifer – East

Belial – South

Astaroth – West

Phlegathon – Center




Misc. Medieval Hierarchies



Baal-beryth – master of rituals and pacts

Dumah – commander of the demons of gehenna

Meririm – prince of air

Rahab – prince of oceans

Sariel – Prince of the moon

Mephistopholes – the destroyer

Lucifer Rofocale – prime minister and controls wealth




Adramaleck – Prince of Fire

Carniveau – Demon of Possession

Python – Prince of lying spirits

Mammon – Prince of tempters, avarice, and greed

Rimmon – Prince of lightning and storms



ARCH SHE-DEMONS — One of the Very Few All Female Demon Hierarchies.

Leviathan – The Chaos Dragon

Barbelo – Unknown

Proserpine – Destroyer

Astarte – Queen of spirits of the dead

Agrat-bat-mahlaht – One of Satan’s wives and demoness of whores

Eisheth Zenunim – Same as above

Lilith – Satan’s favorite wife

Naamah – demoness of seduction




Richard Dukante’s Hierarchy (1963)


Family 1


Satan – King


Unsere – (Female) Fertility and Sorcery


Satanchia – Grand General (War)


Agaliarept – Assistant Grand General (War)


Lucifage – High Command (Control)


Flereous – Fire Elemental


Lucifer – Air Elemental


Beelzebuth – Lord of insects. [Note – more recent translations of older texts say Beelzebuth was translated improperly and it should have been Lord of Lords.]


Belphegore – Master of Weaponry- gain


Mesphito – Keeper of the book of death


Delepitoré- (Female) Demoness of magick.


Belial – Earth Elemental




Family 2 Luithian – Advisor


*Azlyn – (Female) Weaves the threads of things to come, future.


Leviathan – Water Elemental


Sonnelion – (Female) Demoness of hate






Family 3 Abbadon – Advisor


Ammon – demon of domination